Trombley, Kelechi Madubuko earn top football honors

Wednesday, October 12, 2011 - 20:00
Lineman’s trench work, return man’s elusiveness judged CIC’s best
Chugiak offensive/defensive tackle Kody Trombley was named the Cook Inlet Conference’s Lineman of the Year for 2011 in a vote by the league’s coaches.

Two local senior football players — one a shifty open-field specialist, the other a hulking lineman — came home with two of the Cook Inlet Conference's top four awards in voting by the league's coaches.

Eagle River's Kelechi Madubuko, a senior wide receiver/return specialist who scored 10 touchdowns this season — four on returns — was named the CIC's Utility Player of the Year and also to the first team All-CIC team as a wideout and return specialist.

Chugiak's Kody Trombley, who served as team captain and was the squad's emotional leader both on and off the field, earned the CIC's first-team nod as an offensive tackle and also won Lineman of the Year.

Also taking home top conference awards were Service junior quarterback Amu Aukusitino (Offensive Player of the Year), Dimond senior linebacker Nathan Stephens (Defensive Player of the Year), East coach Jeff Trotter (Coach of the Year) and Service assistant Numi Ilalio Jr. (Assistant Coach of the Year).

The all-conference teams were announced Thursday, Oct. 6.

Also making the first team for Chugiak was senior linebacker Wayde Snell, who made the first team for the second consecutive season.

Second-team selections for Chugiak included running back Justin Schneider and defensive end Steven Puterbaugh. Eagle River's O.J. Hall was named to the second team as an offensive lineman.


All-CIC football team


Offensive Player of the Year — Amu Aukusitino, QB, Service

Defensive Player of the Year — Nathan Stephens, LB, Dimond

Utility Player of the Year — Kelechi Madubuko, Eagle River

Lineman of the Year — Kody Trombley, Chugiak

First-team offense — Trent Anthony, RB, Bartlett; Caleb Green, G, Bartlett; Henry Loia, C, Bartlett; Kody Trombley, T, Chugiak; Nathan Stephens, RB, Dimond; Kelechi Madubuko, WR, Eagle River; Jarred Laws, WR, East; Jeff Overbaugh, T, Service; Viliamu Aukusitino, QB, Service; Justin Wilson, T, Service; Allan Busey, WR, Service; Jaramie Augafa, G, South; Louis Page, TE, South; Conor Feckley, QB, West; Marcel Dion, WR, West; Lamarr Brown, WR, West; Jacob Crews, T, West

First-team defense — Justin Moore, ILB, South; Wayde Snell, LB, Chugiak; Nathan Stephens, LB, Dimond; Damon Griffith, LB, Dimond; Kendell Scott, OLB, Dimond; Tyler Rowles, DB, East; Falema’o Tosi, T, East; Brody DeLoria, LB, East; Luke Schnelbaecher, LB, East; Jack Ameperosa, T, East; Hiapo McCandless, OLB, Service; Eric Pili, T, Service; Stephan Ellis, ILB, Service; Mathew Ilalio, DB, Service; Dalton Sauder, ILB, South; Dante Williams, CB, South; Michael Wilson, CB, South; Tommy Hopp, OLB, South; Lincoln Tulimasealii, LB, West; Griffin Toomey, P, South

First-team special teams — Tom Troxel, K, West; Jeff Overbaugh, LS, Service; Kelechi Madubuko, Ret, Eagle River; Griffin Toomey, P, South.

Second-team offense — Taylor Bomar, K, Service; Nathan Stephens, LS, Dimond; Amu Aukisitino, KR, Service; Dew Yeager, T, Bartlett; Justin Schneider, RB, Chugiak; Prince Launiuvao, C, Dimond; O.J. Hall, T, Eagle River; Austin Gardner, RB, East; Derrick Jones, T, East; Nik Butler, WR, Service; Zach Lujan, QB, South; William Krolick, WR, South; Gabe Imlach, C, South; Kieran Kuiper, G, West; Esene Tui, G, West

Second-team defense — Jonah Silva, LB, Bartlett; Steven Puterbaugh, DE, Chugiak; Arman Tufaga, OLB, Dimond; Jeremiah Ieremia, DE, East; Daniel Murakami, OLB, Service; Jonathan Jenkins, OLB, Service; Trevor Williamson, DB, Service; Aaron Esplin, OLB, South; Desmond Corpu, CB, West; Ryden Hines, P, Dimond

Honoroable mention offense — Kenny Pegues, C, Chugiak; Tyler Rohde, WR, Chugiak; Malcolm Bell, RB, Eagle River; Danton Evilsizer, RB, Eagle River; Peter Kott, QB, Eagle River; Rydell Reinbold, G, Eagle River; Ryden Hines, QB, Dimond; Stanley Liaga, G, Dimond; Ryan Hellenga, T, Dimond; Osa Atifale Jr., RB, East; Jesse Vanilau, QB, East; Presley Piliati, G, East; Jerome Puletapuai, C, East; William Willis, T, East; Connor Dekalb, TE, East; Nicholas Bachman, FB, East; Michael Muller-Stubblefield, C, Service; Sam McCallum, G, Service; David Lambe, TE, Service; Michael Pearce, G, Service; CJ Toomer, QB, Service; Nathen Saiele, RB, West; Mitchell Adams, T, West

Honorable mention defense — Travis Craig, DB, Chugiak; Sam Banks, LB, Eagle River; Ed Hall, LB, Eagle River; Jachi Madubuko, LB, Eagle River; Josh Vanderlooven, LB, Eagle River; Andr’e White, DE, Eagle River; Stanford Liaga, LB, Dimond; Moses Lomu, T, Dimond; Casey Hoflich, DE, Dimond; Edward Jones, T, East; Peter Siaulaiga, LB, East; Derrick Jones, T, East; Sivia Thompson, T, East; Jacob Blunt, DB, East; Jarred Laws, DB, East; Kekoa Fomai, T, Service; DJ Williams, OLB, West.


Facebook comments