5 named to all-CIC hoops team; Chugiak girls win GPA award

Friday, March 15, 2019 - 13:13
  • Chugiak’s Jackson Wall dribbles past Tikigaq’s Matthew Nukapigaq during the Mustangs’ 70-36 win over the Harpooners on Thursday in the first round of the Cougar Tipoff Tournament at Service High. Wall led all scorers with 15 points. (Star photo by Matt Tunseth)
  • Eagle River senior Ryan Adkins was fouled by Barrow senior Prince Elliott as he drove to the basket during the Wolves’ 76-73 loss to the Whalers in the opening game of the Alaska Prep Shootout at Dimond High School on Thursday, Jan. 10, 2019.
  • Chugiak’s Chasity Horn tries to get open during the Mustangs’ game against Bartlett at the Dimond Lady Lynx Shootout on Saturday, Feb. 9, 2019 at Dimond High. (Matt Tunseth / Chugiak-Eagle River Star)
  • Chugiak’s Eva Palmer drives to the basket during the Mustangs’ 63-52 Cook Inlet Conference girls basketball win over East on Friday, Feb. 15, 2019 at Chugiak High. (Matt Tunseth / Chugiak-Eagle River Star)
  • Eagle River’s Grace Harder drives past South’s Jo Kashevarof during the Wolves’ 48-35 loss to the Wolverines on Wednesday, Jan. 16, 2019 at Eagle River High. (Star photo by Matt Tunseth)

Chasity Horn and Eva Palmer were among 15 players named to the CIC’s All-Conference team, which was announced after the tournament Saturday. The star duo also helped lead the Mustangs to the girls GPA award.

Horn and Palmer were joined on the team by Eagle River’s Grace Harder. Dimond’s Alissa Pili won the conference MVP and Bartlett’s Clarence Smith was named Coach of the Year.

Eagle River’s Ryan Adkins and Chugiak’s Jackson Wall were named to the boys All-CIC team. East’s Isaiah Moses won MVP and the T-birds’ Chuck Martin was Coach of the Year. Chugiak’s Robert Sheldon and Eagle River’s Sterling Retzlaff were named Honorable Mention.

All-Cook Inlet Conference Basketball Team


Isaiah Moses, Dimond; Hasaan Herrington, East; Kaeleb Johnson, East; Jaron Williams, East; Rashad King, Bartlett; Leroy Manogiamanu, Bartlett; Bishop Tosi, Bartlett; Evan Hoosier, Dimond; Carter Moore, Dimond; Jamari Lawrence, West; Joel Martinez, West; Reece Ivanoff, South; Ryan Adkins, Eagle River; Jackson Wall, Chugiak; Brandon Gall, Service

Honorable mention — Diques Esaw, West; Ryan King, Bartlett; Jaren Clark, Dimond; Robert Sheldon, Chugiak; Henry Helgeson, Service; Aiden Williams, East; Jayden Hartwell, South; Braun Ohlson, South; Sterling Retzlaff, Eagle River; Will Morgan, Service

MVP — Isaiah Moses, Dimond

Coach of the Year — Chuck Martin, East


Naialani Felix, West; Ah’kayzee Galloway-Davis, West; Nyeniea John, West; Amelia Uhila, Bartlett; Kianna McWhite, Bartlett; Skye Miller, East; Kimora Nicdao, East; Maris Soland, South; Lily Weimann, South; Chasity Horn, Chugiak; Eva Palmer, Chugiak; Ariyanna Camacho-Villafuerte, Dimond; Grace Harder, Eagle River; Cadie Stoddard, Service

MVP — Alissa Pili, Dimond

Coach of the Year — Clarence Smith, Bartlett

Facebook comments