Eagle River teen Nick Carl held off Anchorage marathoner Jerry Ross on Saturday, Nov. 4 in the third annual Maddy’s Run 5-kilometer cross-country running race at Eagle River High.

A junior at Eagle River High, Carl finished in 16 minutes, 46.9 seconds to hold off the 42-year-old Ross by less than two seconds. Hyrum Nelson, a sophomore at Chugiak High, was third in 16:55.2.

Ross is a well-known Alaska runner who was 154th men’s finisher at this year’s Boston Marathon.

Chugiak was knocked out of the Cook Inlet Conference volleyball tournament by the top-seeded Dimond Lynx on Friday, Nov. 3 at Service High.

The Lynx came out hot and stayed that way, winning 25-18, 25-21, 25-15 to secure a spot in the third-place match against South for a spot in the state tournament.

The sixth-seeded Mustangs reached the consolation round semifinals with a four-set win over Service on Thursday, pulling away from the host Cougars 25-18, 23-25, 25-22, 25-13.

Eagle River, Wasilla skate to tie

Wasilla played its second overtime draw in less than a week Friday night, skating to a 2-2 tie with Eagle River at the McDonald Center.

The Warriors also tied Chugiak last Saturday, Oct. 28 at the Mac.

Friday’s contest was a back-and-forth affair, with the Warriors taking the lead on an Alex Engan power play goal with six minutes to play in the period, and the Wolves tying things up on a shorthanded strike from Ty McEnaney on a Tucker Lien assist just before the first intermission.

Chugiak’s Izzy Powers and Eagle River’s John Heaphy each won two individual events Saturday to lead their teams to third-place finishes at the Cook Inlet Conference Swimming and Diving Championships at Bartlett High.

Powers won the 50- and 100-yard freestyle for the Chugiak girls, and also teamed with Cheyenne Burke, Addison Morgan and Leslie Cockreham to win the girls’ 200 medley relay. Burke and Morgan also earned automatic state meet berths with individual victories — Burke in the 100 backstroke and Morgan in the 100 breaststroke.

Chugiak fought and scrapped its way to a 3-3 season-opening nonconference hockey tie with Wasilla Saturday at the McDonald Center in Eagle River.

The defending Alaska state champions fell behind 2-0 less than four minutes into the game after Wasilla picked up quick goals from Alex Engan and Dillon Matson.

Chugiak cut the lead to 2-1 after two period on a Danny Casey goal, then tied things up with 3:33 to play on a goal by Jacob Kosinski, who deftly poked the puck past Wasilla goalie Sean Carney.

Chugiak finished its Cook Inlet Conference volleyball season with a home sweep over Eagle River on Tuesday, Oct. 24 as the Mustangs honored seniors Allison Chase, Samantha Harris, Malia Mortensen, Rebekah Smith, Emily Walden and Leah Atalig.

Sophia Lestina had 12 kills and 19 digs in the 25-16, 25-18, 25-20 win, which lifted Chugiak to 4-10 at the conclusion of the regular season. Mortensen added four aces and 25 digs for Chugiak, which also got 20 assists from Chase.

Among Chugiak-Eagle River’s claims to fame are high densities of bears and large numbers of hockey players, so it’s probably fitting the Kenai River Brown Bears Tier II junior hockey team has tapped the area for a chunk of its roster this season.

Four local residents are on the North American Hockey League team’s roster this season, including former Chugiak High standouts William Casey and Zach Krajnik, along with former Eagle River Wolves Sutton and Cam McDonald.

For the second year in a row, Chugiak’s Derryk Snell has been named Alaska’s top offensive football player.

The senior running back was named the Alaska Football Coaches Association Alaska Division I Offensive Player of the Year over the weekend after leading the Mustangs to a 9-1 season and a second straight Railbelt Conference title.

Chugiak head coach Roger Spackman was also recognized by the state’s coaches with Coach of the Year honors. West’s Javin Iloilo was the Division I Defensive Player of the Year, while Bartlett’s Thomas Sio won Lineman of the Year.

Chugiak earned four spots on the first-team All Cook Inlet Conference team, which was released following the conclusion of the regular season.

The third-place Mustangs — who lost in the CIC semifinals to eventual champion Dimond — landed quarterback Eva Palmer, wide receiver Chasity Horn, cornerback Briana Panter and cornerback Carson Head on the first team. Running back Corey Frazier and linebacker Sierra Love made the first team for Eagle River, which finished eighth and lost in the first round of the playoffs to CIC runner-up West.

Chugiak rolled undefeated through the Railbelt Conference, so it’s no surprise the Mustangs came out with plenty of postseason football honors.

Leading the way for the Mustangs — who went 9-1 and lost in the state Division I semifinals earlier this month — was senior Derryk Snell, who earned his second consecutive RBC Offensive Player of the Year award. Snell was named a first-team running back and linebacker for the Mustangs, who earned eight spots on the first team.