Longtime Eagle River resident Deanna Nicolard died at her home on Feb. 24, 2012 after a lengthy battle with ovarian cancer. She was 73.

Services will be held Sunday, March 4 at 4 p.m. at Kings Way Ministry Center in Eagle River.

Mrs. Nicolard was born on April 9, 1938 in Tacoma, Wash. She first came to Alaska in 1962 to visit her sister and brother-in-law, who were stationed at Fort Richardson. There she met her future husband, Pete Nicolard.

Bryan Michael Watkins, of Eagle River, died on Dec. 31, 2011 in Oklahoma from a massive brain hemorrhage. He was 32.

Watkins was born Jan. 8, 1979 in Anchorage, the youngest son of Jerry and Carole Watkins of Eagle River.

He attended Chugiak High and later earned his GED.

His hobbies included snow boarding, riding four-wheelers and snowmobiles, camping and hunting.

 Eagle River’s Jacqueline Zaragoza has been named to the Fall Semester Dean’s List at Idaho State University in Pocatello, Idaho. Zaragoza, a 2010 Chugiak High graduate, is currently a sophomore studying practical nursing. She is the daughter of Paul and Betty Zaragoza of Eagle River.

Eagle River’s Ashley Allen has earned placement on the Gonzaga University President’s List for fall semester 2011. Students must earn a 3.7 to 4.0 grade-point average to be listed.

Eagle River’s Angela Weiss has earned placement on the Gonzaga University Dean’s List for fall semester 2011. Students must earn a 3.5 to 3.69 grade-point average to be listed.

 Eagle River’s Michael McCurtain has been named to the fall semester Dean’s List at Marian University in Fond Du Lac, Wisc., by earning a minimum 3.5 grade point average.

 Eagle River’s Alexander Mattson, a student at the University of Minnesota Twin Cities campus College of Liberal Arts, has been named to the Dean’s List for the 2011 Fall Semester. Students on the list achieved a grade point average of 3.66 or higher while taking 12 or more credits.

 Eagle River’s Breeanna Bateman, a sophomore at Minnesota State University, Mankato, has been named to the school’s Honor List. In order to qualify, a student must have received at least a 3.5 GPA and be enrolled for at least 12 credit hours in a semester.

 Chugiak’s Alexis Sayer, a 2010 Chugiak High graduate, has been named to the fall semester Dean’s List at Linfield College in McMinnville, Ore. In order to be named to the Dean's List, students must complete 12 graded credits and be in the top 10 percent of their class.

Eagle River’s Michaela Marie Hall Richard died Feb. 9, 2012. She was 47.

A celebration of life will be held on Sunday, Feb. 19 at the Lion's Club in Eagle River at 2 p.m.

She was born in Alaska on Dec. 22, 1964 and graduated from Lebanon Union High School in Lebanon, Ore., in 1983. She returned to Alaska in the mid-1980s, where her daughters Jessica and Kaela were born.

“Michaela made many friends everywhere she went throughout her life, including her long career as a business development representative for a local title company,” her family said.

Eagle River’s Lois Rockcastle recently received the Alaska Nurse Practitioner of the Year Award for 2011.

Each year the Alaska Nurse Practitioner Association selects a nurse practitioner in Alaska to be honored for their contribution to the profession, leadership in the organization and to contribution to health care in Alaska.