Legislators to attend Jan. 3 town hall meeting

Wednesday, January 2, 2019 - 17:01
  • The community room at the Eagle River Town Center will be the site of a legislative town hall meeting Thursday, Jan. 3 from 6:30 to 8:30 p.m. (Star file photo/Kirsten Swann)

All five members of the incoming Chugiak-Eagle River legislative delegation are scheduled to appear at a legislative town hall meeting Thursday in downtown Eagle River.

The public town hall will be held from 6:30 to 8:30 p.m. at the Eagle River Town Center Building at 12001 Business Boulvard. Scheduled to attend are Senator-elect Lora Reinbold, Sen. Shelley Hughes, Rep. Cathy Tilton, Rep.-elect Kelly Merrick and State House appointee Sharon Jackson.

The purpose of the meeting is to get feedback from constituents about priorities for the upcoming legislative session, which begins later this month in Juneau.

“It’s an opportunity for you guys to give us your marching order,” said Reinbold, who is moving from the House to the Senate in the upcoming session after winning the November election to replace Sen. Anna MacKinnon.

The all-Republican local delegation has seen a bit of a shake-up in recent months. Last month, Jackson was appointed to fill the District 13 seat vacated when Dan Saddler chose to run for State Senate. Nancy Dahlstrom won the general election race for District 13, but decided not to take office and will instead serve as the commissioner of the Department of Corrections.

Tilton was re-elected in District 12 in November, while Merrick won the race to replace Reinbold in District 14.

CORRECTION: A previous version of this story transposed the representatives for District 13 and 14.

Facebook comments