Big tires, low temperatures at Icy Rampage

Thursday, February 8, 2018 - 15:18
  • Eagle River’s Brandon Hoxie battles the chill during the Icy River Rampage on Saturday, which began and ended at the Eagle River Nature Center with 10- and 20-mile races. (Photo for the Star by Michael Dinneen)
  • Teresa Sellers of Eagle River negotiates some overflow in the Icy River Rampage Saturday, Feb. 3. (Photo for the Star by Michael Dinneen)
  • Marcia Howell is all smiles and frost after finishing a 10-mile loop of the Icy River Rampage. (Photo for the Star by Michael Dinneen)
  • A trio of frosty racers led by Cheri Cubbison cross a bridge during the Icy River Rampage. (Photo for the Star by Michael Dinneen)

A beautiful if frosty morning with a temperature of -10 degrees greeted nearly 100 fat bike enthusiasts as they wound their way through Saturday’s Icy River Rampage, a 10-mile loop at the Eagle River Nature Center this past Saturday.

Shadows and sun played across the course as the surrounding peaks blocked the late morning’s warmth from reaching Eagle River’s frozen surface during most of the race, an annual fund raiser for the center.

Josh Chelf won the 20-mile race, making two laps in 1:38:23, followed closely by race-long companions Jason Lamoreaux and Brian Bonney. Megan Chelf placed sixth, six minutes back at 1:44:38.

“It was fun, it was beautiful,” said Lamoreaux, noting that the mountainous scenery was worth the effort.

The 10-mile event was won by Will Corbridge in just under an hour at 59:36. The top woman was Rachel James in 13th-place with at time of 1:17:57.

Ten-mile competitor and novice fat biker Barb Johnson praised the event’s coordinators, saying “the course was marked well and smooth and beautiful on the river.” Companion Lorena Knapp termed their loop as a “tour” with stops at the fires organizers had placed along the route.

Eagle River Nature Center Executive Director Asta Spurgis said the registration maxed out at 120 bikers, so the center garnered about $3,000 after expenses.

She also thanked Trek Bicycles for sponsoring this year’s race, taking over for Chain Reaction, who is in the middle of a business expansion. A new element of this year’s event was the addition of a group ride, led by ERNC board member Clark Saunders. Spurgis estimated that 50 bikers went on that ride.

Ten-Mile Race (Top Local Finishers)

15, John White, 1:18:50; 20, Devin Kelly, 1:21:12; 28, Tim Toth, 1:27.55; 40, Jeff Worrell, 1:47:24; 48, Teresa Sellers, 2:19:52.

20-Mile Race (Top Local Finishers)

18, Shery Loan, 1:58:09; 21, Kinsey Loan, 2:03:52; 29, Will Taygan, 2:10:41; 35, Benjamin Schneider, 2:19:23; 37, Brandon Hoxie, 2:22:14; 39, Brant Grifka, 2:24:13; 42, Scott Silliman, 2:25:58

Facebook comments